SMB Oktoberfest 9-ball Open set

SAN Miguel Beer once again rounds up the best pool players in the country for the San Miguel Beer Oktoberfest 9-ball Open.

The nationwide championship will consist of five  qualifying legs all over the country where 18 lucky winners will join 14 of the country’s world champions and title holders to complete the main field of 32 players for the grand finals on November 3-5 at the SM North Edsa Skydome. The finals will be aired live over Studio 23.

The first qualifying leg starts over the weekend  at Puyat Sports’ Ever Commonwealth Lanes. Subsequent qualifiers will take place every week thereafter with the following schedule: Oct 2-3 General Santos City/Pacman Sports Bar, Oct 9-10 Dagupan CIty,Pangasinan/RG Billiards, Oct 16-17 Bacolod City/Bacolod Billiards and finally on Oct 21-22 at the Eastwood Bowl in Metro Manila.

Each qualifying leg will have four winners with two players getting slots each day except for the last leg in Eastwood where there will only be one slot available per day.

In order to enter, players must purchase two Limited Edition Oktoberfest packs at 280 Pesos each and present 10 crowns of any San Miguel beer variant. Registration starts at 10 am at the respective venues.

The seeded players are: Efren “Bata” Reyes:  2010 Predator Internationa 10-ball Champion, Francisco Bustamante: 2010 WPA World 9-ball Champion, Ronnie Alcano: 2006 WPA World 9-ball Champion, Alex Pagulayan: 2004 WPA World 9-ball Champion,  Dennis Orcollo: 2010 World Pool Masters Champion, Roberto Gomez: 2007 WPA World 9-ball Championship runner-up, Lee Van Corteza: 2010 Predator International Loret de Mar Open Champion, Ramil Gallego: 2009 Japan Open Champion, Warren Kimaco: 2009 World Classic 10-ball runner-up, Antonio Lining: 2010 WPA World 9-ball Championship semi-finalist, Rodolfo Luat: First Senate President Manny Villar International Cup Champion, Rubilen Amit: 2009 Women’s World 10-ball Champion, Jundel Mazon: 2010 Guinness World Series Champion, Carlo Biado: 2010 Manny Pacquiao Cup Winner.

The 32 player field will compete for a top prize of 500,000 pesos and a total prize pot of over 1 million pesos.

About Gwenn

You must be logged in to post a comment Login

Leave a Reply