DepEd beat reigning champs Pilipino Star Ngayon in NPC badminton tourney

THE Department of Education Media Group blanked last year tormentor Pilipino Star Ngayon, 3-0, yesterday to clinch the media division title in the 3rd National Press Club (NPC) Media Invitational badminton tournament at the Rizal Memorial Badminton Center.

The Bureau of Customs-A, headed by Philippine Badminton Association (PBA) vice president Joey San Andres, ovewhelmed sister team Customs-B, 3-0, to win the guest division crown of the tourney presented by HEAD-Dynamic Sports, PHITEN-SEEMI, Social Security System, Bureau of Customs, PCSO at Philippine Sports Commission.

NPC president Jerry Yap and board member/sports project director Tina Maralit awarded the trophies, medals and cash prizes to the top four team winners and individual champions during the awarding ceremony.

Levi Aguilar and Emil Tiangco sparked DepEd’s vengeaful run, beating the tanbdem of  Mike Agumpay and Glenn Galicia in straight set in the men’s doubles event, while Zyan Ambrocio and Chie Aguman were stretched to the limit against Nikki Cordero and Dalia Saguid,2-1, in the ladies doubles event.

The tandem of of Danilo Garcia and Ellen Fajardo put icing on the cake with another straight set win againts Babes Adriano and Mario Baguio in the mixed doubles of the tourney supported by Barefootwear, Inc., distributor of Vibram Fivefingers, Puwersa ng Bayaning Atleta, Unilever Philippines, San Miguel Corp., Jollibee, Ocean Park Adventure, EMME Security Group, Coca-Cola at  PBA president Errol Chan.

DepEd scribes also swept the individual awards and received a brand new badminton racket worth P6,000 from sponsoring HEAD Equipments.

The National Press Club (NPC) led by Gwen Salamida stunned Team Malaya, 3-0, tot pocket the third place honor.

“Mula sa NPC Board, nagpapasalamat kami sa mga participants at sponsors na tumulong sa amin para sa matagumpay at masayang torneo tungo sa pagdiriwang ng ika-58 anibersaryo ng NPC sa Oct. 26,” said Yap.

Other teams joined the first sports event of the NPC this year were Manila Bulletin, Tempo, Manila Standard, Manila Times, DMDC, Pang-Masa and The Freeman.

Yap also extend invitation to all media practitioner, Club member and running aficionados to join the ‘Freedom Run’ Marathon slated Oct. 24 at the Intramuros, Manila.

Events to be contested are 10k, 5k and 3k event with P300 entry fee for the long distance run.

About Gwenn

You must be logged in to post a comment Login

Leave a Reply