Group appeals SC ruling to save party-list system

IN its continuing efforts to save and clean up the party-list system of illegal and fake party-list representatives, particularly the case of the illegitimate Ang Galing Pinoy (AGP) Party-list Rep. Mikey Arroyo, Bayan Muna yesterday filed a Motion for Reconsideration to appeal the High Court’s decision to dismiss the petitions versus AGP (GR Nos. 191998, 192769 and 192832) on the grounds of “prematurity and mootness” and “lack of jurisdiction.”

Bayan Muna is asking for a reversal of a 19 July 2010 Comelec decision that allowed Mikey Arroyo to become a nominee of AGP and to hold in contempt Comelec Commissioners Nicodemo Ferrer, Lucenito Tagle, Armando Velasco and Elias Yusoph who authored the assailed resolution in favor of Arroyo in open defiance to Supreme Court decisions inBagong Bayani and Banat.

In its Dec. 15, 2010 ruling, the Supreme Court held that since the Comelec had already proclaimed AGP and Arroyo, the Court had no jurisdiction and that the House of Representatives Electoral Tribunal was the proper forum to elevate the case.

In its pleading, Bayan Muna asserts that it was proper for them to go to the High Court since it has sole jurisdiction to review the rulings of the Comelec. The party also said that it is of paramount importance to resolve the issue of whether or not a party-list representative should belong to the sector which his party-list claims to represent in order to guide the Comelec to prevent further subversion of the doctrine set in the Supreme Court cases of Bagong Bayani and Banat.

The progressive party-list group, thru counsel, also said that “the pursuit of a case for quo warranto with the House of Representatives Electoral Tribunal will be an exercise in futility due to the inordinate amount of time it would take to resolve the case.”

Bayan Muna likewise asked the High Court to order the Comelec en banc to review all its decisions in cases for disqualification of nominees and cancellation of registration of party-list groups filed in the May 2010 elections and decide on cases for disqualification of nominees and cancellation of registration of party-list groups filed in the May 2010 elections that have not been resolved, in line with the Eight Point Guidelines issued by the Court in Bagong Bayani.

Bayan Muna Rep. Teddy Casino stressed that granting their MR would be the SC’s concrete step to help save the party-list system and ensure that the intent of the 1987 Constitution and Party-list Law (Republic Act 7941) is adhered to.

About admin

You must be logged in to post a comment Login

Leave a Reply