Autocross series opens in Alabang

THE 2011 Philippine Autocross Championship Series gets underway on February 27 at Spectrum in Filinvest, Alabang.

A total of 19 races are on tap nationwide this season, including 12 in key cities of Visayas and Mindanao.

After the opening leg, the series will go to Mandaue City, Cebu on March 13 and Panabo City, Davao del Norte on March 27.

The series will also visit the cities of Cagayan de Oro, Iloilo and Bacolod.

Young drivers are expected to dominate the field this year led by 26-year-old daredevil Lance Binamira, the reigning overall champion.

“Autocross is the sport of today’s generation,” said race director Danny Santiago. “The instincts of our young drivers are very good. Given proper training and right equipment, they can compete against the best in the world.”

Santiago, a champion racer himself, is also giving lessons on defensive driving to the participants and racing aficionados.

The races are divided into 20 categories – from novice to experienced on corresponding stock and modified classes.

The individual time trial format will be in effect with each driver given two chances to navigate the track. Only the best time of every driver will count. Elech Dawa

About accounting

You must be logged in to post a comment Login

Leave a Reply