Laylo shares lead in Aeroflot

GRANDMASTER Darwin Laylo defeated Bayarsaikhan Gundavaa of Mongolia to gain a share of the lead Sunday, February 13, in the Aeroflot Open chess championship at the Hotel Gamma-Delte in Moscow, Russia.
The win pushed Laylo’s total to 5.0 points, the same output of GMs Tigran Kotanjian of Armenia, Wen Yang of China and Dorian Rogozenco of Romania after six rounds of play in Group B.

Kotanjian downed GM Zhao Xue of China; Wen nipped GM Alexei Gavrilov of Russia; and Rogozenco stopped the winning run of overnight solo leader GM John Paul Gomez.

In the seventh round, Laylo will play white against Kotanjian while Gomez will also handle the white pieces against GM Nikolai Kabanov of Russia, winner over GM Anuar Ismagambetov of Kazakhstan.

In other results involving Filipinos, International Master Oliver Barbosa beat Mikhail Antipov of Russia; IM Oliver Dimakiling crushed Dmity Kurukin of Russia; and IM Richard Bitoon yielded to GM Vitaly Kunin of Germany.

Meanwhile, GM Wesley So split the point with FIDE MAster Roman Nechepurenko of Russia for 2.5 points in Group A while FM Paulo Bersamina drew with FM Nikolay Orlov of Russia for 4.0 points in Group C. Liberty Icao

About Thor

You must be logged in to post a comment Login

Leave a Reply