Yaptinchay burns road in Filinvest, Alabang

DANBY YAPTINCHAY bucked a nagging mechanical issue on his car to emerge as overall champion for the day in the season-opener of the 2011 Philippine Autocross Championship Series on February 27 in Filinvest, Alabang.

The 2010 Novice Modified Driver of the Year failed t finish the second heat of the Overall category,  but his 1:00.3 effort on the first heat proved to be untouchable in the race supported by Filinvest, Payless Car Care, Cord Chemicals, Inc., Hotel H2O, Disk Breaks Australia and Premiere Condoms.

Mikko Briones settled for second with 1:01.8 while Mato Tan finished third with 1:02.6.

Reigning overall champion Lance Binamira also suffered mechanical issues early and decided to retire for the day. “It’s a long season. The championship is not decided by one race,” he said.

There are 19 races in the series this year with the second leg set on Sunday, March 20, in Panabo City, Davao del Norte.

But Binamira and the rest of the field have a lot of catching up to do.

Yaptinchay also topped the Open Overall category despite failing to finish the second heat. His 1:01.5 bested the 1:03.1 of Tan and the 1:03.7 of Dindo de Jesus.

Mike San Miguel emerged as the frontrunner in the novice division. He ruled the Novice Overall category with 1:07.3 followed by Lewy Manio with 1:08.8 and lady racer Nicole Dipasupil with 1:08.9.

Dipasupil was way above her class in the Ladies category. Her clocking of 1:07.9 was way better than the 1:22.9 effort of closest pursuer Lou Ann Ramos.

About accounting

You must be logged in to post a comment Login

Leave a Reply