Yaptinchay strikes again in autocross series

DANBY YAPTINCHAY proved his opening day dominance was no fluke following another superb showing in the Federal Tyres 2last April 10 at the Meycauayan Commercial Complex in Meycauayan, Bulacan.

Yaptinchay emerged as winner in the Overall and Open Overall categories for the second straight time in as many races to fortify his hold of the lead in the Luzon championship.

The 2010 Novice Modified Driver of the Year topped the Open Overall category with a clocking of 1:23.41. Novice Overall winner Rafael Lao came in a distant second at 1:31.71 followed by Lewy Manio at 1:32.38.

It was a lot tighter in the Overall category with Yaptinchay’s 1:24.71 barely holding off the 1:25.44 effort of veteran driver Mato Tan. Celebrity driver Dominique Ochoa finished a strong third at 1:26.61.

Lance Binamira, the reigning overall champion in the event supported by Auto HQ, Payless Car Care Center, Disk Brakes Australia, Filinvest Corporate Center, Premiere Condoms and Gladiator Sealant, had another lackluster showing.

He placed a lowly seventh in the Overall category at 1:29.63 and didn’t make a run in the Open Overall.

Binamira took solace with his victory in the GT Experienced where his 1:29.63 edged Patrick Bautista’s 1:30.24. Jimmy Sarsoza was far third at 1:38.38.

Lao took home the Novice Overall title at the expense of Ochoa. He checked in at 1:30.65 while Ochoa submitted a 1:31.98. Richard Gallardo finished third at 1:32.96.

Ochoa, easily the most recognizable driver on the track, bagged the title in the Experienced Modified C at 1:26.61. He was followed by Mikko Briones at 1:26.77 and Lao at 1:28.75.

Mars Delos Reyes also did well despite racing for just the second time in autocross. He ruled the Experienced Stock C with a clocking of 1:36.27. He also finished a strong second behind Alex Bautista in Experienced Stock A and Experienced Stock B.

About Thor

You must be logged in to post a comment Login

Leave a Reply