Torre set to play in Mindanao Open

GRANDMASTER Eugene Torre will lead an expected record number of titled players in the 2011 Mindanao Open Chess Championship on August 27-31 at  the Provincial Capitol Conference Room in Kidapawan City.

Torre will be joined by GMs Darwin Laylo and John Paul Gomez and International Masters Richard Bitoon, Rolando Nolte, Yves Ranola and Richelieu Salcedo in the chess spectacle that offers a total of P110,000 cash prize.

National Masters Edgar Reggie Olay, Levi Mercado, Rustum Tolentino, Cedric Magno, Sarip Roger, Ric Portugalera and Ferdinand Leysa are expected to spearhead the Mindanao challenge.

The Mindanao Open Chess Championship is a nine-round Swiss System tournament with an entry fee of P400.

Players from Cotabato will have a P200 entry fee while the juniors and the kiddies will have a P100 entry fee. The tournament will be limited to 150 players only.

NCFP Regional Director-11 and FIDE International Arbiter James Infiesto will serve as Chief Arbiter. He will be assisted by Sammy Yu, Alfred Moulic, Natalia T. Olay, Ronald Olay and Emmanuel Ibea.

For inquiries, call or text tournament director Ted P. Calica at 0939-2632482 or Joey Recimilla at 0999-3088695. Liberty Icao.

About Thor

You must be logged in to post a comment Login

Leave a Reply