Tan rules 4th Luzon leg of 2011 PACS

VETERAN racer Mato Tan stunned Danby Yaptinchay in the fourth Luzon leg of the Federal Tyres 2011 Philippine Autocross Championship Series last Sunday, Septmeber 4, at the Spectrum in Filinvest, Alabang.

Tan checked in at 1:03.49 to clinch the overall title for the day, nearly two seconds better than Yaptinchay’s 1:05.28. Mikko Briones finished third with a clocking of 1:06.98.

Back on the track he dominated during the opening leg of the series organized by racing couple Danny and Marinel Santiago, Yaptinchay was expected to cruise for another victory and pull away from the rest of the field in the season standings. He was untouchable at the Spectrum the first time up, smoking his rivals with a time of 1:00.3.

Instead, Tan kept him in sight in the race for the Luzon crown of the series supported by Federal Tires, Payless Car Care Center, Filinvest Corporate City, DBA- Disc Brakes Australia, HKS Motor Oils, Hotel H2O, Cord Chem Inc., Premier Condoms, DMCI and Toyota Makati.

The series organized by racing couple Danny and Marinel Santiago featured a wide array of race cars from cult classics like Volkswagen Beetles and Mini Coopers to Tan’s high-performance Honda CRX, which caught the fancy of many racing aficionados who followed the event.

The remaining legs of the nationwide competition are slated in Batangas, Bacolod, Zamboanga and Davao. The champions in Luzon, Visayas and Mindanao will compete in the grand final in Manila late this year. Noli Cruz

About accounting

You must be logged in to post a comment Login

Leave a Reply