Ateneo wins fourth straight UAAP title

ANOTHER huge third quarter propelled the Ateneo Blue Eagles to an 82-69 victory over the Far Eastern U Tamaraws and their fourth straight title in the UAAP men’s basketball tournament.

The Blue Eagles also used a third quarter blitz to beat the Tamaraws in Game 1, 82-64. They were tied at 33-all at halftime on that one.

This time, the Blue Eagles outscored the Tamaraws, 22-9, in the third period to turn a 35-36 deficit into a 57-45 lead.

Rookie of the Year Kiefer Ravena led the Blue Eagles with 18 points, including his team’s first four points in the fourth period that virtually erased any hope of the Tamaraws to bounce back.

It was the first time since the inception of the Final Four format in the ‘90s that the host school went on to win the men’s basketball title.

Ateneo also became just the fourth team after University of Santo Tomas, University of the East and De La Salle to win four straight league championships.

About Thor

You must be logged in to post a comment Login

Leave a Reply