12 share lead in National Open semis

TWELVE players shared the lead after two rounds in the 2012 National Open chess championship semifinals on Tuesday at the Philippine Sports Commission (PSC) canteen in Vito Cruz, Manila.

International Master Rolando Nolte led the perfect scorers following his victory over FIDE Master Paolo Bersamina.

Also with 2.0 points were IM Oliver Dimakiling, IM Emmanuel Senador, FM Roderick Nava, FM Haridas Pascua, FM Adrian Ros Pacis, FM Deniel Causo, NM Alex Milagrosa, NM Alcon John Datu, Ben Polao, Jerad Docena, and Rhobel Legaspi.

Dimakiling downed John Ranel Morazo, Senador nipped Gabriel Paril, Nava outclassed Ritchie Evangelista, Pascua scalped Leodegario Ricana, Pacis beat NM Stewardt Manaog, Causo manhandled Kevin Mirano, Milagrosa defeated Rey Jomar Magallanes, Datu crushed Jerad Docena and Legaspi trounced Paul Robert Evangelista.

In the women’s play, Mary Grace Tambasen waylaid Akiko Charmaine Suede to join Shanie Mae Mendoza and Jean Karen Enriquez on top with 2.0 points.

The top six players in the men’s and the top eight players in the women’s will advance to the grand finals and compete against the 12 Filipino grandmasters and six top woman players from last year’s national championship.

The tournament organized by the National Chess Federation of the Philippines (NCFP) in coordination with the Philippine Sports Commission (PSC) is serving as the semifinal in the selection process to determine the country’s representatives to the 2012 World Chess Olympiad in Istanbul, Turkey in August. Noli S. Cruz

About Thor

You must be logged in to post a comment Login

Leave a Reply