3 Pinoys eye GM title

INTERNATIONAL MASTERS Ronald Dableo, Oliver Dimakiling and Rolando Nolte bid to join the growing list of Filipino grandmasters when the  DYTM Raja Nazrin Shah International Open Chess Championship gets underway on September 17-23 at the Olympic Sports Hotel in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia.

Dableo, a former Asian 3.2a Zonal champion, only needs to raise his Elo rating of 2430 to 2500 to complete his GM title status. He already completed the required the three GM norms.

Dimakiling, fresh from a stint in the World Chess Olympiad, seeks his third GM norm in the event dubbed as KL Open Chess. “I hope to perform well at makuha ko na ang final GM norm,” said Dimakiling, who earned his first GM norm by finishing as co-champion in the 2006 Malaysian Open.

Nolte is also targeting his third and final GM norm. “Gaya ni (Oliver) Dimakiling ay target ko din makuha ang last GM norm sa sa KL Open chess,” he said.

For the uninitiated, a player needs to complete the required three norms and at least reach the 2500 Elo rating once. Dimakiling and Nolte have already accomplished the latter.

Organized by Polgar Chess Asia for the Kuala Lumpur Chess Association (KLCA) with support from the Malaysian Chess Federation, the fifth edition of this event is made possible by the Masterskill Education Group.

Previous winners are GM Anton Filipov of Uzbekistan (2008), GM Nguyen Ngoc Truong Son of Vietnam (2009), GM Hou Yifan of China (2010) and GM Oliver Barbosa of the Philippines (2011).

“A FIDE titled and rated event, it will be played over 9 rounds using the Swiss System and the time control will be the standard FIDE 90 minutes for the first 40 moves followed by 30 minutes plus a 30 second time increment per move for the rest of the game.” said Fide Master and Tournament Director Peter Long.

Also playing are GMs Barbosa and Richard Bitoon, International Masters (IMs) Rolando Nolte, Ronald Bancod, Oliver Dimakiling, Ronald Dableo, FIDE Masters (FM) Edgar Reggie Olay, Julius Joseph de Ramos, National Masters Stewart Manaog,  Almario Marlon Bernardino Jr., Edmundo Legaspi and Franz Barreto.

Filipino pawnpushers expects to face stiff competition from GMs Sergei Tiviakov of the Netherlands, Thomas Luther of Germany, Wong Meng Kong of Singapore, Tahir Vakhidov of Uzbekistan , Deepan Chakkravarthy J. of India, Cao Sang, Bui Vinh and Nguyen Ang Dung of Vietnam.

Also included in the field are Woman Grandmasters (WGMs) Nadig Kruttika and Padmini Rout of India and Woman International Master (WIM) WIM Muminova Nafisa of Uzbekistan. Noli Cruz

About Thor

You must be logged in to post a comment Login

Leave a Reply