Tiviakov grabs solo lead in Malaysia chess tilt; Paragua, Laylo share 2nd spot

KUALA LUMPUR, Malaysia – Grandmaster Sergei Tiviakov of the Netherlands grabbed the solo lead in the DYTM Raja Nazrin Shah International Open Chess Championship 2012 following an impressive victory over erstwhile undefeated GM Cao Sang of Vietnam on Thursday at the Olympic Sports Hotel here.

The tournament top seed raised his total to 4.5 points in five rounds after 47 pushes of their French encounter.

Cao dropped into a huge group of chasers with 4.0 points alongside GMs Darwin Laylo, Mark Paragua, Nguyen Anh Dung and Deepan Chakkravarthy J., International Masters Rolando Nolte, Vishnu Prasanna V., Jahongir Vakhidov and Nguyen Van Huy, FIDE Master Ronnie Lim and Jodi Setyaki Azarya.

Laylo and Deepan halved the point after 19 moves of Slav; Paragua and Nolte split the point after 22 moves of Sicilian; Nguyen Anh Dung and Nguyen Van Huy agreed to a truce after 20 moves of Sicilian; Lim downed Franz Barretto after 31 moves of Nimzo; Vishnu Vishnu toppled Rahman Masruri after 34 moves of English Opening; and Azarya stunned IM Ronald Dableo after 29 moves of English Opening.

Another half point behind were GMs Oliver Barbosa, Raset Ziatdinov and Tahir Vakhidov, IMs Oliver Dimakiling, Kirill Kuderinov and Duong The Anh and FM Julius de Ramos.

Barbosa scalped Aris T.L.S. in their Slav encounter; Ziatdinov beat Edward Lee after 36 moves of Scotch; Vakhidov drew with Sean Winshand Cuhendi after 43 moves of English Opening; Dimakiling trounced James Attwood after 42 moves of Slav; Kuderinov took the measure of National and US Master Almario Marlon Bernardino, Jr. after 61 moves of Reti Opening; Duong spanked Thanadon Kulpruethanon; and de Ramos defeated Steven O’Reilly.

The tournament organized by Polgar Chess Asia for Kuala Lumpur Chess Association (KLCA) is supported by the Malaysian Chess Federation and sponsored by Masterskill Education Group. Noli Cruz

About accounting

You must be logged in to post a comment Login

Leave a Reply