Two North Luzon rice farmers lead 2012 Gawad Saka winners

A 48-year old civil engineer-turned-rice farmer from Kalinga and a 62-year old farmer from Ilocos Norte, lead this year’s outstanding farmers and fisherfolk or 2011-12 Gawad Saka national awardees.

Agriculture Secretary Proceso J. Alcala said engineer-farmer Teodoro Kub-ao, Jr. of Kalinga is declared as the national Gawad Saka winner for integrated rice farming, while Ricarte Corpuz of Ilocos Norte is chosen as the best in hybrid rice farming.

Kub-ao earned more than P1.2 million last year from his four-hectare integrated rice farm in Tabuk City, while Corpuz earned P1.5 million from producing hybrid rice at his farm in Laoag City.

The two are among the 25 national winners of the 2012 Gawad Saka, who will receive a total of P6.5-million in cash prizes and project grants, and Presidential citation and trophy, in fitting ceremonies in November.

Agriculture Secretary Proceso J. Alcala has invited President Benigno S. Aquino III to once again serve as the main guest and keynote speaker during the 2012 Gawad Saka awarding ceremonies, at a venue to be announced later.

The Department of Agriculture conducts the yearly Gawad Saka contest to pay tribute to model farmers, fisherfolk, and their respective groups who have excelled and made significant contributions to enhancing the development of the agriculture and fishery sector in their community and the country, in general.

The 2012 Gawad Saka national steering committee is chaired by DA assistant secretary Edilberto de Luna, who is also the concurrent national corn program coordinator.

For their feat, this year’s Gawad Saka winners under the individual category will each receive P150,000 cash, while winners in the group category will each receive P50,000 cash and project grant, ranging from P150,000 to P450,000.

Aside from Kub-ao and Corpuz, the other 15 Gawad Saka national individual category winners are:

Corn – Delia Nanong (Tarragona, Davao Oriental)
Coconut – Alberto Panghulan (Esperanza, Sultan Kudarat)
Sugarcane – Jaime Sillador (Carmen, North Cotabato)
High value crops – Gregorio Saljay III (Pigcawayan, North Cotabato)
Organic agriculture – Ronald Costales (Majayjay, Laguna)
Agri-entrepreneur – Arthur Tabbu (Lighthouse Cooperative, Tuguegarao City) and Bonifacio Begonia (Guaranfood Mfg. Corp., San Pablo City)
Fish culture – Ferdinand Mari (Alicia, Isabela
Fish capture – Rene Maunas (Mati City, Davao Oriental)
Large animal raiser – Francisco Pasion (Marcos, Ilocos Norte)
Small animal raiser – Vicente Doletin (Midsayap, North Cotabato)
Young farmer – Dario Gullos (Española, Palawan)
Farm family – Bernardino Nunez, Sr. and family (San Rafael, Bulacan)
Agricultural scientist – Dr. Mudjekeewis Santos (BFAR-NFRDI) and
Agricultural researcher – Ambrosio Alfiler (Philippine Coconut Authority Albay Research Center). Dr. Santos and Alfiler will each receive P1 million (P900,000 as project grant and P100,000 cash), courtesy of the DA’s Bureau of Agricultural Research (BAR).

The eight Gawad Saka national winners in the group category are:

·        Small farmers’ or fisherfolk’s organization – Abrasa Multi-Purpose Cooperative (Diffun, Cagayan)
·        Rural Improvement Club (RIC) – Calatagan Tibang RIC (Virac, Catanduanes)
·        Young farmers’ or fisherfolk’s organization – Monteverde 4-H Club (Culianan, Zamboanaga City)
·        Municipal Agricultural and Fishery Council (MAFC) – Sablayan MAFC, Occidental Mindoro.
·        Provincial Agricultural and Fishery Council (PAFC) – Mountain Province PAFC
·        Barangay Food Terminal (BFT) LGU-operated – Barangay Kiba-o, Matanao, Davao del Sur
·        BFT non-LGU-operated – Valiant Primary MPC, Bongabon, Nueva Ecija.
·        Municipal FARMC – Aroroy, Masbate.

About Thor

You must be logged in to post a comment Login

Leave a Reply