DA rice package design contest winners bared

THE National Rice Program of the Department of Agriculture this week named the winners in the recently-concluded rice packaging design contest aimed at creating a common identity and popularizing the country’s aromatic and pigmented rice varieties.

Assistant Secretary Dante S. Delima, national rice program coordinator, said the project can help promote the country’s various upland rice such as dinorado, tinawon, ballatinaw, kalinayan, and other pigmented varieties because they are tastier, healthier and form part of our colorful indigenous Filipino culture.

He revealed that the winning entries have already been commercialized and used as the actual packaging for export-quality red and black rice brought for market testing by Agriculture Secretary Proceso J. Alcala in his recent visit to the Middle East.

The winning design, entitled “Brown Man Rice,” was created by digital artist Hector Joseph E. Samson of Pasong Tamo Quezon City. He won the first prize in the digital art category, with a P25,000 cash prize.

The predominantly brown design featured an illustration of the world-famous Banaue Rice Terraces in the background, and an etching of farmers planting rice in the foreground.

In the manually-rendered category, the “Indigenous Farm” entry of Marjun Navida of the Municipality of Kapalong, Davao Del Norte won the first prize. He will also receive a P25,000 cash prize.

The entry entitled “Pinoy Aromatic Rice” by Michael Manuel P. Benedicto of Poblacion, Nabunturan, Compostela Valley bagged second place in the digital category, while a similarly-titled entry by Ferdinand Polo, administrative assistant in the Public Affairs Office of the Central Luzon State University won the same spot for the manual category. Both winners will each receive P15,000 in cash.

The third place in the digital category went to “Maria Clara” by Nicollo B. Ordonez, while “Masaganang Ani” by Rey C. Labrador of the Tagum City Trade School won the same spot in the manual category. Each of them will receive P10,000 cash.

Under the digital category, Aeron P. Bermudez of Science City of Munoz, Nueva Ecija; Neil Edward D. Diaz of Sto. Tomas, Davao Del Norte, and Jett Molech G. Subaba of San Jose City, Nueva Ecija, won consolation prizes of P2,000 each.

In the manual category, the Henrick Bryan Rosales and sister Hazel Grace of Las Pinas City, and Diego Roman Q. Orozco of Agusan Del Sur also won consolation prizes of P2,000 each.

All the major prize winners shall also receive plaques of appreciation and certificates for their achievement.

The winners will be formally awarded their prizes by Secretary Alcala during the 2012 National Convention of Food Staples Producers on December 12, 2012 at the Manila Hotel.

About accounting

You must be logged in to post a comment Login

Leave a Reply